You are here

Sleep and Managed Desktop machines

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

Managed Desktop machines fall asleep after 30 minutes of inactivity. Sleep is a power-saving mode, similar to being switched off, except that the machine can be woken quickly by pressing a key on the keyboard. When the machine wakes it is ready for immediate use - it does not have to go through the boot process again.

At the end of the day, it's best to leave the machine to go to sleep, because:

  • it's quicker than shutting it down - just log off and walk away;
  • it's quicker to get started the next day - just wake the machine and start using it, it doesn't have to boot;
  • the machine can wake to install software updates at night while nobody is around, so the updates don't have to install the next morning.
Last reviewed: 
10/08/2017

System Status

Home dirs (AFS)
Network
Mail
Other services
Scheduled downtime

Choose a topic